Stanley Cup Hockey Tournament


(Courtesy of

After Tampa Bay Lighting won the Stanley Cup, a teammate holds it up in excitement.

The National Hockey League (NHL) Stanley Cup Hockey Tournament is a tournament of sixteen teams. This year the Stanley Cup Hockey Tournament started on Monday, May 2. 

On November 26, 1917, the NHL was founded, which led to growth and the addition of more and more teams. For the 2021-2022 season NHL added a new team, known as, the Seattle Kraken. 

In 1917 the first U.S.-based team, Seattle Metropolitans, won the Stanley Cup. 

In 1892 Lord Stanley of Preston presented the creation of the Stanley Cup Trophy and that this trophy will be awarded to the champion team in Canada. Two years later the first playoff game was held the Montreal A.A.A. v.s. the Montreal Victoires on May 17. Montreal A.A.A. defeated the Montreal Victories, defeating the Ottawa Capitals.

Before 1912 a tournament was allowed to be held at any time for the team with the cup. Any other team was allowed to challenge the cup holder and face off to see if they could keep the cup or if the cup would have a new holder.

The Montreal Canadians won the first Stanley Cup Tournament in 1918, then went on to win against Portland in a five-game final. The Montreal Canadians continued to be successful, winning 24 Stanley Cup Tournaments in the following years. 

There are four rounds of the Stanley Cup Tournament, which include the 1st round, 2nd round, the Conference Finals, and the Stanley Cup Finals. 

Once the team wins the Stanley Cup Final game they get the Stanley Cup, which they are then allowed to put up to 52 names on it of players, coaches, and staff. 

The first games were Bruins v.s Hurricanes, Lightning v.s Maple Leafs, Blues v.s Wild, Kings v.s Oilers,  Penguins v.s Ragers, Capitals v.s Panthers, Predators v.s Avalanche, and Stars v.s Flames. 

The teams that will be advancing are the Hurricanes, Lightning, Wild, Oilers, Penguins, Capitals, Avalanche, and Flames. 

People can watch these games on Hulu, Live TV, ABC, ESPN, TNT, and ESPN+.