The twelve zodiac signs: How they affect daily living


(Courtesy of Britannica Image Quest)

Image of the zodiac chart.

History of the zodiac: 

According to Allure, there has been evidence throughout scrips and drawing and other forms of art that the zodiacs came to be somewhere between 409 and 398 BC, probably within a few years of 401 BC. The twelve zodiac signs were created by the Babylonians who lived in one of the most ancient Mesopotamian cities, close to where modern-day Iraq is. The ancient Egyptians made connections that the patterns of stars made up constellations. This led to specific constellations being addressed to certain periods of time if you were born within said certain time period that was your constellation. Over time the names and different personality traits were assigned to the constellations creating the well-known zodiac signs.

The four signs:

There are even different astrological elements within the zodiac, according to MBG Mindfulness. The four elements that the zodiac is classified under are fire, air, water, and earth. Any of the three astrological signs are grouped together because of the shared attributes of enthusiasm, vitality, and interest in spiritual, creative, and other such topics. 

First, fire signs, Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius are the three fire signs of the zodiac, which means they reside in this element’s part of the astrological calendar. “Fire is inspiration, passion, impatience, warm, idealistic, and inventive,” said Linda Joyce in an article with MBG Mindfulness. 

Next, air signs, which include Gemini, Libra, and Aquarius, are intellectual and communicative. They are experts in the ephemeral, the things of this world that lack physical form, and this is especially true of language and information. The air element is our breath, the most necessary and invisible function of our human body. 

Water signs, Scorpio, Cancer, and Pisces, are most known for being deep, emotional, and borderline psychic. According to the AstroTwins, water signs have a proclivity toward sensitivity, and this can make them regularly take things to heart. They take their family and home life very seriously, however, making them loving partners. 

Finally, the earth signs, which include, Taurus, Virgo, and Capricorn, are practical, stable, and grounded. These signs are known for being very hardworking and value stability and security in all areas of their lives. Their solid and grounded energy allows them to tackle long-term goals and plans, whereas the other signs would lack perseverance.

Capricorn: December 22 – January 19 

Capricorns are earth signs represented by a sea goat. Capricorns are known for being wildly spontaneous, deeply intelligent, and have great problem-solving skills. 

Aquarius: January 20 – February 18 

Aquarius’ are air signs represented by a water-bearer. They are very competitive, and love to, and will do anything to come out on top. These traits make them bold and ambitious, loving any challenge that comes their way.

Pisces: February 19 – March 20 

Pisces are water signs represented by two fish swimming in opposite directions. This representation shows that their minds are constantly divided between fantasy and reality. They are the most intuitive, sensitive, and emotional of the signs. 

Aries: March 21 – April 19 

Aries are fire signs represented by a ram. Rams are known for being tough animals, making them the perfect representation of an Aries. They are competitive, bold, ambitious, and love a good challenge. 

Taurus: April 20 – May 20 

Taurus, which is an earth sign, is represented by a bull. Taurus’ enjoy relaxing, however, they are elegant and place themselves on a pedestal. 

Gemini: May 21 – June 20 

Geminis are air signs and are represented by celestial twins. Geminis are spontaneous, adorably erratic, playful, and curious. They are also very interested in many different activities, making their attention divided.

Cancer: June 21 – July 22 

Cancer is a water sign represented by a crab. Cancers are highly intuitive but will do whatever it takes to protect themselves emotionally, in order to get to know Cancers you will need to establish trust. 

Leo: July 23 – August 22 

Leos are fire signs represented by a lion. They are self-assured, confident, loyal, passionate, and infamously dramatic. They love to be in the spotlight and the center of attention.

Virgo: August 23 – September 22 

Virgos are earth signs represented by a maiden, also known as the virgin. Virgos are logical, practical, and systematic. Along with this, Virgos are well-known perfectionists. 

Libra: September 23 – October 22 

Libras are cardinal air signs represented by the scale, which is the only inanimate object of the signs. This makes sense given that Libras value balance, harmony, and justice. Libras establish equilibrium in all parts of their lives, especially the heart. 

Scorpio – October 23 – November 21 

Scorpios are water signs that are represented by a scorpion. They are elusive and mysterious, making them one of the most misunderstood and complicated signs of the zodiac. After you past their hard exterior, they are highly emotional and have incredible intuition. 

Sagittarius – November 21 – December 21 

Sagittarius are fire signs represented by the archer. They know no bounds and they have many pursuits, always chasing after intellectual challenges.